Life

The Traveling Book

Because books can travel too, apparently.

20170603_192503[1]

On New Year’s Day, a dog finds a bone in the Hollywood Hills – and unearths a murder committed more than twenty years earlier. It’s a cold case, but for Detective Harry Bosch, it stirs up memories of his childhood as an orphan. He can’t let it go. As the investigation takes Bosch deeper into the past, a beautiful rookie cop brings him alive in the present. No official warnings can break them apart – or prepare Bosch for the explosions when the case takes a few hard turns. Suddenly all of L.A is in an uproar, and Bosch, fighting to keep control, is driven to the brink of an unimaginable decision.

This particular book hasn’t traveled far. It was picked up at a thrift store and registered in 2010, with no activity until two days ago when the owner left it on one of our tables. Now, I’ve never been a huge murder mystery genre reader, but it was so slow at work that I read the first few chapters just because. I’ve decided that I would like to take the time to read this book, as I’ve grown quite fond of it, then release it to the wild.

Screenshot_20170603-205010[1]

The idea of tracking traveling books is very intriguing to me. I had only ever heard rumors about this idea. Never did I ever imagine I’d be in possession of one. Imagine setting your book down at a restaurant and the next thing you know it’s traveled more than you have! Who knows where a particular book may have been? Who knows where it’s going to end up next?

Once I’ve finished reading the book, which has been bumped to the top of my reading list for the time being, I’ll have to leave it behind somewhere and hope the next person cares for it as much as I have.

20170603_192628[1]

The day after finding the book, Joe and I went to a new burger place that popped up near the local mall. The Shake Shack had the same sort of vibe that Chik-fil-A always has – somewhere between a restaurant and fast food. None the less, our burgers, though small, were extremely delicious, my black & white milk shake slayed, and the cheese on our cheese fries tasted like none other. Joe was even able to get a beer, much to his extreme pleasure.

And since we still had a lot of time to kill by the time we finished eating before I had to go to work, we decided to just to go the mall so I could finally spend my birthday gift cards. I got 10 pairs of panties from Pink and only paid $6 out of my own pocket! And I got two more books – The Red Queen and Mercedes Thompson Fire Touched.

20170603_192537[1]

While in Barnes & Noble, I found this little magnet. This quote hit me right in the center. Ever since I can remember, I’ve been an overthinker. Memories always come back to torture me, darkening my mood for as brief as a second or as long as a week.

When I left boot camp unfinished, it dawned on me that I had reached maximum potential and failed myself. For the first year, I thought about what should have been my life every day. It didn’t hurt at first, too excited was I to be back home, but eventually it haunted me. Only in the last few months have I come to terms with the life I live, here in the now.

20170530_040951[1]

All things happen for a reason, however. Had I not come back home, I never would have started dating Joe. We struggle every day, but we love each other, and that’s good enough for me :3

Hopefully the rest of your evening goes well!

With love,

Khali

Leave a Reply

